Bandsintown Logo
Wednesday, January 24th, 2018
7:30 PM
50 years to the day since the orchestra played its first concert, the London Sinfonietta celebrates its birthday with the music that has shaped its identity – past, present and future.

Co-founder David Atherton joins George Benjamin and Vladimir Jurowski in conducting a journey that begins with the music of Stravinsky, Ligeti and Birtwistle, courses through to the London premiere of Hans Abrahamsen’s piano concerto Left, alone and peers into the future with a new commission by RPS award-winning composer Samantha Fernando.

Join the ensemble, along with alumni from the London Sinfonietta Academy, and see what the next 50 years have in store.


Harrison Birtwistle: The Message
Stravinsky: Octet
Ligeti: Chamber Concerto
Deborah Pritchard: New work for solo saxophone(World premiere)
Samantha Fernando: Formations(World premiere)
Hans Abrahamsen: Left, alone for piano (left hand) & orchestra(London premiere)
Various: Encore! (14 Variations on a Hornpipe by Purcell)(World premiere)