Bandsintown Logo
Friday, April 13th, 2018
8:00 PM
14 RSVPs
Tocotronic is a German rock band founded in 1993 (see 1993 in music). Similar to Blumfeld or Die Sterne they are considered a part of the Hamburger Schule (School of Hamburg) movement. They are influential for bands such as Wir sind Helden.Tocotronic got signed to L` Age D` Or, a German independent record label situated in Hamburg, in 1994 after quickly gaining popularity in the local scene. Their early style consists of ironic sloganeering (`I want to be part of a youth movement`) and almost diary-like songwriting, paired with a lo-fi rock sound with elements punk rock and grunge. In 1995 they released their debut-album `Digital ist besser` (Digital is better) followed by their second album `Nach der verlorenen Zeit` (After the Lost Time) only a few months later. Their third album, released in 1996, was the first to hit the German charts. The music got more complex over time, their lyrics less direct, resulting in a sound that was compared to that of Pavement on Tocotronic`s 1999 album `K.O.O.K`. The self-titled `White Album`, released in 2002, features dreamlike songs; metaphoric, heavily produced, highly polished, it completes a slow but steady course away from their early works (`eins zu eins ist jetzt vorbei` - `one-to-one is over now`).Despite never being overly commercially successful, Tocotronic have a steady fanbase in Germany and their records are regularly reviewed and acclaimed in mainstream newspapers and music magazines alike.In July 2007, Tocotronic released their eighth studio album, `Kapitulation`. Also, around this time, the band announced the end of their working relationship with long-time label `L`age D`or`, and consequently, `Kapitulation` was released by Vertigo Berlin, a sublabel of Universal music. Their ninth studio album, `Schall & Wahn`, was released in January 2010 and became their first number-one record. `Wie Wir Leben Wollen`, was released on 25th of January 2013 and `Tocotronic` (commonly known as `Das Rote Album`, or `The Red Album`) was released on the 1st of May 2015, currently the band`s most recent album.The current band members and positions are Jan Müller (bass), Arne Zank (drums), Dirk von Lowtzow (rhythm guitar, vocals), and, since 2004, Rick McPhail (lead guitar, keyboard).