Bandsintown Logo
Friday, March 23rd, 2018
7:30 PM
Matthew Jones  (violin)
Gabriella Swallow  (cello)
Warren Mailley-Smith  (piano)

Beethoven – Piano Trio No.6, Op.70 No.2 in E flat
Arvo Pärt – Mozart-Adagio for piano trio
Beethoven – Piano Trio No.5, Op.70 No.1 in D (“The Ghost”)
Mendelssohn – Piano Trio in D minor Op.49

Tickets: £28, £20, £15
Box office: 0333 666 3366

The West End’s newest chamber music series, launches in 2018 with a season of five concerts that presents complete Piano Trios of Ludwig van Beethoven.

The third concert of the series on Friday 23rd March presents a programme of epic dimensions, featuring two of Beethoven’s finest and most challenging works in the genre, contrasted with one of the most enduring Piano Trio’s of all time, the Mendelssohn Piano Trio in D minor, whose popularity stems from its soaring melodies and virtuosity throughout.

International violinist (and violist) Matthew Jones is the Head of Chamber Music at Guildhall and is joined by outstanding cellist Gabriella Swallow and concert pianist Warren Mailley-Smith, who became the first british pianist to perform Chopin’s complete works from memory in 2016.