Bandsintown Logo
Sunday, April 15th, 2018
6:30 PM
JS Bach - Fugue in G minor for violin and continuo, BWV 1026 (1714)
Suite No. 3 in C for solo cello, BWV 1009 (1720)
Sonata in E minor for flute and continuo, BWV 1034 (1725)
Prelude and Fugue in C minor, BWV 871 (1738)
Trio Sonata in E minor, after BWV 527 in D minor (1728)

Martin Feinstein flute
Catherine Manson violin
Christopher Suckling cello
Robin Bigwood harpsichord
The Feinstein Ensemble

Bach’s time as court composer in Cöthen, free from any devotional duties, was his golden age of instrumental music. However many chamber works were written much earlier than this and others were composed during his later Leipzig period, to be performed at the famous Collegium Musicum concerts.

Here The Feinstein Ensemble introduce and perform three decades of instrumental masterpieces, including his earliest surviving chamber work: the Fugue for violin and continuo in G minor.