Bandsintown Logo
Tuesday, November 28th, 2017
7:30 PM
The great pianist Mitsuko Uchida brings a series of Schubert's piano sonatas to London. She performs four recitals, with two taking place this season and two next.

Reviewing her performance in 2012 of the last three sonatas, The Guardian commented: `The recital unfolded like a vast epic: intensely coloured, fiercely dramatic, generously expressive; every phrase mattered.'

In the first concert, Uchida opens with the great C minor Sonata D.958, a work of overwhelming drama and almost fevered imagination.

She follows it with the 'little' A major Sonata D.664, one of the most lyrical and intimate in Schubert's output. After the interval, Uchida traverses the sublime expanses of the Sonata in G major.

This concert takes place as part of Mitsuko Uchida's three-year project in collaboration with Southbank Centre.

Schubert: Sonata in C minor, D.958; Sonata in A, D.664
Schubert: Sonata in G, D.894