Bandsintown Logo
Sunday, November 5th, 2017
7:00 PM
Paradise 9

Paradise 9 are a four- piece rock band based in London and Brighton. Formed in 1997 by singer songwriter Gregg McKella, they released their first album “Showtime” in 1998. In 2017 they are celebrating their 20th anniversary, and are officially celebrating their 20 years with an extended set at the Half Moon. The gig will feature many ex members of the band, and musicians and singers who have guested with them over the years, playing material old and new. This comes with the release of their new live double 20th Anniversary 1997 ~ 2017 CD. The gig will also be filmed for a DVD release.

Their music brings a chilled yet punchy approach to the rock genre sound, taking inspiration from psychedelic and progressive bands like Pink Floyd, Gong, and Hawkwind. It fuses proto and post punk from the Ramones through to the Clash, and the Psychedelic Furs. Paradise 9 are; Gregg McKella on vocals, guitar, glissando guitar, clarinet and space FX’s (Daevid Allen’s Glissando Guitar Orchestra/ Monty Oxymoron’s Fibroid Nebulae/Peyote Guru) Tyrone Thomas on lead guitar and backing vocals (Olympic Clamp Down/Jeanette Murphy Band/ex-Alternative TV) Neil Matthars on bass (ex-Casual Affair) Wayne Collyer (ex-Deep Skin) on drums.

Paradise 9 have played extensively around the UK, performing at many festivals including Glastonbury 2011/13/14, Bearded Theory, Alchemy, and have headlined at The Green Gathering, Hope Festival, Tannerfest, Cosmic Puffin and Kozfest to name a few.

To date they have 2 studio albums ‘Showtime’ (1998) and ‘Take Me to the Future’ (2013), a live CD ‘Live at the Amersham Arms 2014’ and a DVD ‘Live at On-board the Craft 2013’.

‘Take Me to the Future’ featured several guest musicians, including ex-Hawkwind Nik Turner on sax and flute, and the late great Judge Trev Thoms on guitar, both from seminal post punkedelic band Inner City Unit. It also features Pink Fairies’ Jaki Windmill on percussion and backing vocals, and Jeanette Murphy, Poppy Gonzalez (Dreamfield/ex-Mojave 3/ ex-Sing Sing) and Steve Teers (Human Cabbages).

“...What makes this record special, though, is the lightness of touch that moves it effortlessly between psychedelia, punk, reggae, dub and just all those musical genres that represent facets of the counter-culture as a joined-up whole...” Ian Abrahams – Space Rock Reviews August 2013 And their ‘Live at the Amersham Arms 2014’ album…. "... I like the combination of punky edged Rock ‘n’ Roll, trippy soloing flute and Psych guitar leads....File under absolutely awesome!... Killer set. What a great live band...” Jerry Kranitz - Aural Innovations November 2015

Deviant Amps

Deviant Amps are a 3-piece psychedelic progressive beat combo.

The current line up came together in September 2015. They have since released two albums, "Strange Voodoo From Electric Salad Studios" and "Live at The King Arthur, Glastonbury” through their own label Damp Recordings and their third, “Take Me Back To The Sky” will be released in April 2017. Deviant Amps are Paul Woodwright, guitars, looping, glissando guitar and vocals, Subs on bass and Keith Chenery on drums.