Bandsintown Logo
Thursday, October 19th, 2017
7:30 PM
R Schumann Adagio and Allegro, Op. 70
C Schumann 3 Romances, Op. 22
Heinz Holliger Romancendres (2003)
Schumann Fantasiestücke, Op. 73
Brahms ‘Feldeinsamkeit’, Op. 86 No. 2
Brahms ‘Wie Melodien zieht es mir’, Op. 105 No. 1
Schumann 5 Stücke im Volkston, Op. 102

Christoph Richter cello
Dénes Várjon piano

In 1893, Brahms wrote: ‘Frau Schumann burnt a volume of [Schumann’s] cello pieces, fearing that they might appear in print after her death.’ These were same Romances Brahms had refused to take to the publishers during Schumann’s last months, but had praised warmly in 1853. What inspired the destruction? What secrets did they hold? In his rapt, visionary Romancendres, Heinz Holliger reimagines and revives these ‘cinders’ of Schumann’s late music.

Christoph Richter and Denes Varjón weave a rapt narrative around these characters, from Schumann’s ecstatic Adagio and Allegro, Clara’s own tender Romances to the intimate lieder of Johannes Brahms. |