Bandsintown Logo
Saturday, October 21st, 2017
7:00 PM
Mike Hughes

Sheffield singer-songwriter Mike Hughes has announced the release of his new double A-Side, ‘Never Met A Girl Like You/Holy Water’ the first music from his forthcoming second album.

This is the first release since Mike’s debut album in 2015, which saw him rise to national attention through extensive play from both BBC 6 music and Radio 2 and main support to Miles Kane on his national tour.

He has since provided the ominous soundtrack for the 2016 film ‘Passenger’, while also managing to write a future Christmas pop classic in the form of ‘It’s Xmas Time (But I Don't Mind)’.

Mike headed back into the studio in late 2016 to begin what would become his second album. Produced by David Sanderson (Jim Jones Revue/Reverend & The Makers) at Sheffield’s legendary 2Fly Studios, it is an explosion of fuzzy power pop, heralding a new phase in Mike Hughes’ sound.

As Mike says ‘The first album was about the end of the world. But as that was seemingly an increasing reality I thought I should mix it up a bit. So what you hear is a man free from the shackles of a beard. Gone were the acoustic guitars and instead my new quest was to hunt down every interesting keyboard sound in Sheffield.’

‘The start of Holy Water came about through someone taking me to a lock up in an old industrial estate. After staring at what I thought was his mum’s antique sideboard it revealed itself to be one of the first pre-programmed synthesisers, which became the foundation of the song and a lot of the album’.

Mike played a main stage slot at this year’s Tramlines festival and headlines Picture House Social on October 21st.

Mike Hughes’ second album will be released in October

Support comes in form of:

Wulfman Fury

Wulfman Fury are 5 piece band from Sheffield
They have been holed up in Fox den studios for 8 months writing and recording
Their first track 'Nightsweats' and video will be released on 10th October
This will be the premier of their live show

All At Sea

Will Tomson’s songwriting draws inspiration from the everyday weird and the might of nature with songs about whales, cow parsley and fungi.

All at Sea’s performances combine memorable lyrics and melodies with music that spans from intimate acoustic numbers to upbeat foot stomping guaranteed to get people dancing and singing along.

Currently playing with Will Tomson guitar/vocals, Grant Pringle guitar/vocals, Nick Gozem on drums, David Melville on bass and Danjelli Schembie on synth/keys the sound has taken a psychedelic edge and will be playing festival dates TBA for summer 2017.