Bandsintown Logo
Saturday, December 2nd, 2017
8:00 PM
Paradise 9

Paradise 9 are Gregg McKella on vocals, guitar, glissando guitar, clarinet and space FX's (Daevid Allen's Glissando Guitar Orchestra/ Fibroid Nebulae/ex Dreamfield/ex Image Wot Image), Tyrone Thomas on lead guitar and backing vocals (Olympic Clamp Down/Jeanette Murphy Band/SpaceDogs/ex-Alternative TV), Neil Matthars on bass (ex-Casual Affair) and Wayne Collyer (ex-Deepskin) on drums.

Their music brings a chilled yet punchy approach to the rock genre sound taking inspiration from psychedelic and progressive bands like Pink Floyd, Gong, and Hawkwind, while fusing proto and post punk from the Ramones through to the Clash, and the Psychedelic Furs. They have played extensively around the UK, performing at many festivals including Glastonbury 2011/13/14, Bearded Theory, Alchemy, and have headlined at The Green Gathering, Hope Festival, Tannerfest, Cosmic Puffin and Kozfest to name a few.

To date they have 2 studio albums 'Showtime' (1998) and 'Take Me to the Future' (2013), a live CD 'Live at the Amersham Arms 2014' and a DVD 'Live at On-board the Craft 2013'.

Now in their 20th year they are celebrating by bringing out a double live album "20th Anniversary LIVE 1997 ~ 2017" featuring live recordings from gigs and festivals from their inception to present. The album features ex-members from previous line ups, including Andy McDonald on bass, Carl Sampson and Jonas Golland on drums, Steve Teers and Jaki Windmill (Pink Fairies/ex-The Deviants) on djembe and backing vocals to the present line up. The album also features guests Nik Turner (Space Ritual/ex-Hawkwind) on sax and flute, and Jeanette Murphy and Tracey Morais on backing vocals.

. I really dig the way this band plays some straight up space rock and then also some more aggressive punky, punchy material and then some really spaced out at times. Scott Heller Talking About Music

Sumerian Kyngs

The Sumerian Kyngs are an eight piece British psychedelic, space, groove, jam band. They are best known for their pounding live performances and psychedelic laser light shows.

The band was founded in Brighton in 2004 by Ross Clifford, Simon Myers, Phil Boucherat, Steve Cartwright and The Damned's Monty Oxymoron. They made their debut at the Marlborough Theatre, Brighton, for The Real Music Club during the middle of 2004. The band have experimented and undergone many line-up changes. Myers left in 2006 and was replaced by Marc Jenner. Shortly after, the band expanded their line-up, recruiting Andy Baynton-Power (bass), Eva Thompson (sitar), Mickey Wynne (guitars) and Stuart McKay (harmonicas) along with occasional appearances from The Hobbit (accordion). Boucherat and Thompson left during 2007. The following year, Cliff Dowding joined on synthesizers, noises and lighting. In 2009, Jenner left the band due to ill health and was replaced by Richard Lanchester. The Hobbit moved away in 2009 while Clifford and Wynne left the band in 2010 to pursue separate creative interests. They were replaced by Tony Green (formerly of the cult band The Unbelievables) on vocals and Trevor Nobes (TNT and others) on guitars. After many artistic differences, Lanchester left the band in 2014 and was replaced by Dave Berk, the founder of Johnny Moped. However due to the recent revival of the Johnny Moped band, Berk was no longer able to commit to the Kyngs and subsequently left in 2015. He was replaced in 2015 by Graham Durrant, who was with Indie band 14 Iced Bears. In 2016, the Kyngs were signed to Brighton label 2Right-Records (2RR) and have released their first studio album 'Post Art Pop Offensive'.