Bandsintown Logo
Brooke Russell and The Mean Reds - 'The Way You Leave' Album Launch
Saturday, October 21st, 2017
8:00 PM
Written between Nashville and Melbourne, the second full length album from Brooke Russell and The Mean Reds, ‘The Way You Leave’ is due for release on October 18. Sweet, sultry and soaring, this new collection of songs document love, loss, friendship and regret and feature co-writes with Andrew Combs, Clare Reynolds and Tobias Hengeveld as well as covers of JD Souther and Tom Waits. With Grant Taylor on guitar, Ben Franz (The Waifs) on pedal steel, Luke Richardson (Raised By Eagles) on double bass, Roger Bergodaz (Lost Ragas) on drums and Brooke Russell on lead vocal and guitar, the band tracked the bed of the album live at Union St Studios, with Roger Bergodaz at the helm. Two tracks stripped back the Mean Reds sound to feature Brooke in trio mode with double pedal steel guitar backing from Franz and special guest Shane Reilly (Lost Ragas, Tex Perkins). Reilly also composed stunning string arrangements and piano before the final touches were made by some special friends bringing backing vocal magic; Ladie Dee (Howl At The Moon), Emilee South, James Arneman and Flora Smith (Small Town Romance), Tracy McNeil and Jac Tonks (Amarillo). The band will launch ‘The Way You Leave’ live at The Spotted Mallard on Saturday 21st October with special guests Xani and Cookie Baker. Buy your tickets early for $12 + bf or grab one on the door on the night for $15.