Bandsintown Logo
Monday, November 27th, 2017
7:00 PM
[Please note that everyone attending this event will receive a unique limited edition poster signed by Mike Garson. Purchasers of the £100 ticket will be able to enter the venue at 5:30pm to watch the final 30 minutes of the soundcheck and to meet Mike Garson]

Mike Garson performs David Bowie's masterpiece
Aladdin Sane album in its entirety plus a set of additional Bowie favorites with special guest vocalist Gaby Moreno

Mike Garson is widely known for his impressive skills as a pianist and respected composer but he is perhaps best known for his unique relationship with the late cultural icon David Bowie.

It is pointless to talk about his ability as a pianist. He is exceptional. However, there are very, very few musicians, let alone pianists, who naturally understand the movement and free thinking necessary to hurl themselves into experimental or traditional areas of music, sometimes, ironically, at the same time. Mike does this with such enthusiasm that it makes my heart glad just to be in the same room with him. David Bowie

Mike was Bowie's most prolific band member, playing on more than 20 albums and performing together for both David's first and last concerts in the United States as well as 1,000 concerts around the globe in between - including the iconic first Ziggy Stardust tour. Mike's extensive back catalogue also includes collaborations with Nine Inch Nails, The Smashing Pumpkins, No Doubt, St. Vincent and Seal along with film scores including Gone Girl and Stigmata.

Aladdin Sane was David Bowie's sixth studio album, released by RCA Records on 13 April 1973. The record is heavily characterised by Mike Garson's remarkable avant-garde piano playing which heralded the beginning of an edgier - more risk-taking - approach to music by Bowie. The album cover featuring a lightning bolt across his face is regarded as one of Bowie's most iconic images.

The special guest singer for Mike's upcoming live Aladdin Sane tour is Gaby Moreno; a 2013 Latin Grammy winner and 2017 Grammy nominee. The tour's band is made up of renowned musicians:

Kevin Armstrong, guitar (David Bowie, Iggy Pop, Prefab Sprout, Thomas Dolby)
Terry Edwards, saxophone and guitar (PJ Harvey, Gallon Drunk)
Ben Ellis, bass (Iggy Pop)
Mat Hector, drums (Iggy Pop, Thomas Dolby)