Bandsintown Logo
Friday, January 19th, 2018
9:00 PM
36 RSVPs
Show: 9:00 pm

In addition to pieces by three American mavericks written in the 1960s, the ever-adventurous Kronos Quartet performs a program that includes world premieres of two works commissioned by Carnegie Hall. Zachary J. Watkins’s piece is inspired by the moment just before Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. delivered his “I Have a Dream” speech, while Stacy Garrop’s work is rooted in the words and spirit of oral historian and activist Studs Terkel.

Part of Late Nights at Zankel Hall.

Kronos Quartet
·· David Harrington, Violin
·· John Sherba, Violin
·· Hank Dutt, Viola
·· Sunny Yang, Cello

STACY GARROP New Work (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
ZACHARY J. WATKINS New Work (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
Plus works by Terry Riley, John Cage, and Janis Joplin