Bandsintown Logo
Friday, November 3rd, 2017
7:45 PM
25 RSVPs
Tickets: £16 advance / £19 door

Unreserved seating and standing

7.00pm - Doors and bar open
8.00pm - Show starts

Soft Machine will perform one single set starting at 8.00pm - there is no interval or support act.

Soft Machine originally hailed from Canterbury in Kent and are named after the book by William S Burroughs.

The central band in the Canterbury scene of the late-1960s and early 1970s, Soft Machine pioneered the Progressive Rock and Jazz-Rock genres and gave lovers of intelligent Alternative Music something to swoon over. AllMusic described Soft Machine as One of the more influential bands of their era, and certainly one of the most influential underground ones. Hard to argue with that.

This line-up of Soft Machine features three of the group's 1970s era members guitarist John Etheridge, drummer John Marshall, and bass player Roy Babbington. They're joined by sax, flute and keyboard player Theo Travis. Previous members of Soft Machine include Mike Ratledge, Robert Wyatt, Kevin Ayers, Daevid Allen, Larry Nowlin, Andy Summers, Hugh Hopper, Elton Dean, Allan Holdsworth, and Ric Sanders.